Stacey May Fowles’s essay from the anthology Yes Means Yes: Visions of Female Sexual Power & A World Without Rape (which I also have an essay called “Consent as Sexual Process” in) is now posted on Alternet. It’s called “The Fantasy of Acceptable ‘Non-Consent’: Why the Female Sexual Submissive Scares Us (and Why She Shouldn’t)” and here’s an excerpt:

Because I’m a feminist who enjoys domination, bondage and pain in the bedroom, it should be pretty obvious why I often remain mute and, well, pretty closeted about my sexuality. While it’s easy for me to write an impassioned diatribe on the vital importance of “conventional” women’s pleasure, or to talk publicly and explicitly about sexual desire in general, I often shy away from conversations about my personal sexual choices. Despite the fact that I’ve been on a long, intentional path to finally feel empowered by, and open about, my decision to be a sexual submissive, the reception I receive regarding this decision is not always all that warm.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

